{Review} A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J. Maas

From my old blog | 05/15/2015

16096824

Content

“When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.”

http://sarahjmaas.com/

Facts

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J Maas

Publishing Company:  Bloomsbury

Number of Pages:  432

ISBN-13: 978-1619634442

Language: English

Genre: NA, Fantasy

Style of Writing

Sarah J Maas’ style of writing is fab as always. With her “Throne of Glass” series she showed what a fantastic writer she is and didn’t disappoint in “A Court of Thorns and Roses” either. Her writing is super vivid and her words fit together magically.

Characters

Feyre is the main character of the book and tells the story. She’s a poor huntress who gets taken by Tamlin, because she’s killed one of the Fae. I was able to connect with her pretty fast and liked her a lot.

Tamlin is a hot Fae and Feyre’s captor. He’s the beast of the story,  nonetheless very charming and friendly towards Feyre.

Lucien seems to be the opposite of Tamlin. He’s got a scared face, but he’s still very attractive and always has an acute sense of humour.

Rhys is the bad Fae. Of course, he’s a hot guy, as well, and though he’s actually quite mean, he’s my favorite Fae of all.

Opinion

I’ve been looking forward to “A Court of Thorns and Roses” (ACOTAR) for months and it’s been one of my most anticipated reads of the year, because I simply love Sarah J Maas’ “Throne of Glass” series. So I know she’s an amazing writer and that she’s able to create fantastic new worlds.

The world-building of ACOTAR is just as amazing as I’d imagined it to be and I LOVE the map in the front of the book – it’s gorgeous and it helps you so much to orientate yourself! The world Feyre lives in is very rich and vivid. Just as we are used to, Sarah J Maas weaves a whole new world with her words with so many details you’re even able to smell the flowers.

Sarah J Maas also created very lovely characters. Feyre is a girl you have to love. She’s quite reasonable, though knows what she wants. One guy is hotter than the other and there should be a favourite one for each of you.Yet I always seem to fall for the bad boys – so Rhys is my man! Tamlin seemed nice, too, but definitely too nice for my taste ;-)! I loved Lucien’s sarcasm though.

For me being used to Sarah J Maas’ action-packed books, ACOTAR kind of had a slower start. I’ve missed a bit of action in the first two thirds; whereas the last third has been that gripping I couldn’t stop reading. Still, I liked to be introduced to the new world of Fae and get a feeling for those hot guys and their surroundings.

It might be the case that I’m just not too fond of fairytales. I like them, but I’m not too sure about retellings. On the other hand Sarah J Maas did an amazing job weaving “The Beauty and the Beast” into her story, so I got around it quite fast.

I really enjoyed reading ACOTAR. It’s just some smaller bits that keep this story from being perfect for me. And I’m pretty sure Sarah J Maas will easily top this book with the sequel!

Conclusion

I loved ACOTAR, but the “Throne of Glass” series will always be my number one! Still, I’m really looking forward to ACOTAR 2 and highly recommend you to read this book! It’s a must-read for all the fairytale-lovers out there!

2 Gedanken zu “{Review} A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J. Maas

Kommentar verfassen

