{Review} Something Strange and Deadly-Susan Dennard

From my old blog  |   03/15/2015

9859436

Content

The year is 1876 and Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor…from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including their maddeningly stubborn yet handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance.

http://susandennard.com/books/something-strange-and-deadly/

Facts

Title: Something Strange and Deadly

Author: Susan Dennard

Publishing Company: Harper Teen

Number of Pages: 400

ISBN-13: 978-0062083265

Language: English

Genre: YA

Style of Writing

Susan Dennards style of writing is fabulous! It is so vivid and gripping and you’re able to dip right into the story. I loved the fact that her style of writing matched the tone of that particular time or at least how I would’ve imagined it to be.

Characters

Eleanor Fitt is an atypically curious girl for that time. I liked that she did what she wanted and not what her mother told her to do. I think I might have identified myself with her stubbornness and have been in awe of her courage the entire time.

Clarence Wilcox is a rich and handsome guy who took interest in Eleanor. Obviously, he’s just the right guy to marry Eleanor – at least from her mother’s point of view.

Daniel Sheridan on the other hand is a quite smug boy; nonetheless he’s very insightful, as well. Eleanor meets him while looking for help by the Spirit-Hunters. I liked him the second we get to meet him despite his arrogance. I couldn’t help but fall for this clever and sensitive inventor.

Opinion

I honestly don’t know what took me so long to read this amazing book! I’ve completely fallen in love with “Something Strange and Deadly” and all of its characters (especially Daniel ;-)).

I’ve been a bit skeptical towards the zombies, but my doubts never proved well-founded. In fact I enjoyed reading something completely new, since I’ve never read a story about rising dead before. And the way Susan Dennard developed the whole story is spectacular. “Something Strange and Deadly” is very well-plotted and the characters are so real and complete.

I don’t know why, but I always seem to fall for those arrogant and smug boys. They seem to put a spell on me. It has been the same with Daniel Sheridan and I guess I even fell for him earlier than Eleanor discovered her fondness for him.

The fact, that “Something Strange and Deadly” takes place in the year 1876 is fantastic! It’s been so good to visit a place without all those technical devices and learn how life could’ve been without them. And it’s been really interesting to discover how different society has been a couple of hundred years ago. Susan Dennard is able to create a setting which literally takes one back in time. The style of writing, the descriptions, the behaviors of the people – everything goes perfectly together.

I absolutely loved the physical aspects of the story. All those supercool things Daniel invented have been really interesting. I always like it, when “new things” in books physically make sense. (I know, that’s the physicist speaking in me :-D.)

Conclusion

When you’ve liked “Clockwork Angel”, then “Something Strange and Deadly” is the perfect read for you! In fact I’d say it is even better and you mustn’t be afraid that you won’t like it because of the zombies. That’s been my concern, but I have been proven wrong. I loved this book and will need to get my hands on the two following parts as soon as possible to continue this amazing adventure with Eleanor!

3 Gedanken zu “{Review} Something Strange and Deadly-Susan Dennard

Kommentar verfassen

