{Review} Strange and Ever After-Susan Dennard

From my old blog  |  05/13/2015

This is the sequel to „Something Strange and Deadly“ and „A Darkness Strange and Lovely“.

17902141

Content

“It has been a tumultuous time for Eleanor Fitt since life as she knew it in Philadelphia came abruptly to an end. Although the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and Daniel—have helped her survive, Eleanor has lost just about everything.

And now, Jie is missing—taken by the evil necromancer Marcus. Eleanor is determined not only to get her back but to finally end this nightmare. To do so, she must navigate the hot desert streets of nineteenth-century Egypt amid the rising Dead, her unresolved feelings for Daniel, and her volatile relationships with Joseph and Oliver, her demon. And it won’t be easy. Because Allison, her friend from Philadelphia, has tagged along, becoming strangely entangled in Eleanor’s mission.

It will take all of Eleanor’s powers of black magic, and all of Daniel’s and Joseph’s trust, to succeed. But there will be a price.”

http://susandennard.com/books/something-strange-and-deadly/

Facts

Title: Strange and Ever After

Author: Susan Dennard

Publishing Company: Harper Teen

Number of Pages: 400

ISBN-13: 978-0062083326

Language: English

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Style of Writing

You already know how much I adore Susan Dennard. She’s the empress of words! Her style of writing is one of my favorites out there and I love her choice of words so much! She gives you the feeling to be part of the amazing Spirit-Hunter team and clearly seems to know how to get you hooked.

Characters

There hasn’t really been a change in the characters this time. Eleanor still is one of my favorite characters ever and you know how dearly I love Daniel Sheridan.  My feelings towards him haven’t changed a bit and then there’s still also the ever charming Oliver…

Opinion

Gaahh, I really don’t know where to start this review. Just thinking about this book sends me right back to the year 1876 and lets me feel all the feelings again.

“Strange and Ever After”  is the most perfect third book in a trilogy I’ve ever read (also, note that I’m aware of the fact that there isn’t a superlative of perfect, but this book is just so much more than perfect!) It gets you hooked on page number one and doesn’t release you until the last page. And believe me, there’s no way to break that spell! You simply need to know what’s happening next and it’s so gripping; you’re not able to put it away for a second.

I’ve been falling in love with Susan Dennard’s characters in book one already, so it’s no surprise that I loved all of them in this third book, as well. I also “might” have the worst crush on Daniel Sheridan I’ve ever had on a book character. He’s just so ADORABLE!

Again, Susan Dennard takes us to some new places and it’s great to learn more about them. I think the aspect that she chooses new settings in each book makes her books this special, as well. Her world-building is stunning, so you always have a vivid image of all places and rather seem to be there yourself than just reading about it.

The ending honestly shattered my heart into a thousand pieces and it’s still not fixed, nevertheless it’s been perfect! Susan Dennard couldn’t have done it better and with more feelings than I felt during the last hundred pages. Even though it hurt so much, it’s one of the best endings I’ve ever read!

Conclusion

“Strange and Ever After” is pure perfection! Thrilling from the beginning you’re taken on a journey with so many feelings and I already miss all of those lovely characters! Can’t wait to get my hands on her new novel “Truthwitch” and I can’t tell you often enough to go and buy yourself a copy of these books, they’re just so good!

Ein Gedanke zu “{Review} Strange and Ever After-Susan Dennard

Kommentar verfassen

