{Review} The Mirror King – Jodi Meadows

22909838

Content

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.“

Cover and synopsis from Goodreads

Facts

Title: The Mirror King

Author: Jodi Meadows

Release date: 04/05/2016

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Rating: 5/5 stars

Add to Goodreads

Opinion

THIS BOOK.

Do you know the feeling you sometimes get while reading certain books when you’re actually not reading it at that moment? When the feelings of the book seep into your real life and you can’t quite pinpoint why the heck you’re having these weird feelings? And then you realize it’s because of the book you’re currently reading?

Well, that’s exactly what happened to me while reading The Mirror King.

You can trust me that I can be very moody, when this happens, but at the same time I absolutely LOVE it. It shows me just how much I love the characters and how very much I am engaged in the story. I don’t have this often, but if I do, the book certainly will become one of my favourite books. So did The Mirror King.

The Mirror King is the perfect ending to an amazing story. I loved every page of it. Jodi Meadows‘ writing style is very vivid and super easy to read. It certainly helps you to fly through the pages. All the carefully woven threads come together in the end and I couldn’t be happier with how everyhing turned out.

I’ve been very emotional while reading this book. Usually I’m not the one to cry easily while reading, but I did indeed cry at least twice while reading The Mirror King. I’m amazed by how Jodi Meadows easily transports all the feelings from the page to the reader.

I’m IN LOVE with the characters! I love Wilhelmina. She’s a strong girl who is determined to do the right thing. I love her attitude and she’s one of my favourite heroines of all-time. I also fell head over heels in love with Black Knife. My strong feelings for him even intensified during The Mirror King and he’s one of my top five book boyfriends EVER.

I’m super sad that the story of Wilhelmina and Tobiah came to an end. Nonetheless, I loved every second of it and I’m just really happy with the ending.

Now, please, excuse me while I just sit here, hug my copy of The Mirror King and try to recover from the worst book hangover ever.

Goodreads Updates

TMK GR

Favourite quote

(Besides *that* list at the end <3)

„Oh, I can’t imagine His Royal Sullenness being happy about anything.“ Melanie pulled away and sat on my bed. „Sorry, James. I know you like him. For some reason.“ James smirked and bent over his notebook. „Wilhelmina likes him, too.“

The Mirror King, page 297/298

 

Kommentar verfassen

