{Review} Inked – Eric Smith

From my old blog  |  02/11/2015

22511892

Content:

„Sometimes your only chance to survive, and what you most fear… is to be INKED.

Tattoos once were an act of rebellion.

Now they decide your destiny the moment the magical Ink settles under your skin.

And in a world where Ink controls your fate, Caenum can’t escape soon enough. He is ready to run from his family, and his best friend Dreya, and the home he has known, just to have a chance at a choice.

But when he upsets the very Scribe scheduled to give him his Ink on his eighteenth birthday, he unwittingly sets in motion a series of events that sends the corrupt, magic-fearing government, The Citadel, after him and those he loves.

Now Caenum, Dreya, and their reluctant companion Kenzi must find their way to the Sanctuary, a secret town where those with the gift of magic are safe. Along the way, they learn the truth behind Ink, its dark origins, and why they are the only ones who can stop the Citadel.“

http://ericsmithrocks.com/books/

Facts

Title: Inked

Author: Eric Smith

Publishing Company: Bloomsbury Spark

Number of Pages: ~217

Language: English

Genre: YA

Add to Goodreads

Style of Writing

Eric Smith creates such a vivid world with his words, it’s absolutely fantastic! I like his style of writing a lot. You’re able to see, smell and feel the colorful world.

Characters

Caenum is the main character in the story. He’s forced to run away from home and fight. He had to grow up real quickly during his journey and I felt with him the entire time. Yet I wasn’t able to relate to all his actions, some seemed to come a bit out of nowhere.

Dreya is such a lovely girl. She’s been Caenum’s best friend since forever and I absolutely adore her! She’s a really nice and cute character and in contrary to Caenum, I agreed with her actions all the time. She is my favorite character in “Inked”.

With Kenzi the whole trouble starts. He’s a boy who has the Magic he isn’t supposed to have.  During the story he becomes a good and reliable friend to Caenum and Dreya.

Opinion

First of all: I LOVE tattoos! So I’ve been totally hooked, when I read the synopsis, since it’s such a cool idea! Beautiful, moving, ever changing tattoos simply have to be gorgeous. And when I started the novel, the tattoos were even prettier described, than I imagined them to be.

I was hooked from the beginning because of the vivid describing, so that I didn’t want to stop and put the book down. The story is action-packed and fast-pacing. I absolutely loved the beginning and the ending, only some parts of the middle could have been a bit more dramatic.

Also, I would have loved to see a little bit more romance, but that’s just my opinion, because I love love stories ;-)! And Caenum and Dreya are so adorable together!

Conclusion

“Inked” by Eric Smith is such a lovely debut novel! I thoroughly enjoyed the story of Caenum and though there could have been a bit more action in the middle part, I recommend this novel to everyone who reads YA and enjoys vividly-created worlds!

Kommentar verfassen

