{Rezension/Review} Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Von meinem alten Blog/From my old blog  |  08/27/2015

16068905

Inhalt/Content

“ Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, everybody is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath it’s something more. Fandom is life. It’s what got her and her sister, Wren, through losing their mom. It’s what kept them close.

And now that she’s starting college, introverted Cath isn’t sure what’s supposed to get her through. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fanfiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?“

http://www.rainbowrowell.com/fangirl

Fakten/Facts

Titel/Title: Fangirl

Aut(h)or: Rainbow Rowell

Verlag/Publishing Company: St. Martin’s Griffin

Seitenzahl/Number of Pages: 448

ISBN-13: 978-1250030955

Sprache/Language: English

Genre:Young Adult

Add to Goodreads

Schreibstil/Style of Writing

Rainbow Rowell hat einen schönen Schreibstil. Er ist leicht zu lesen und man kann somit schnell in Cath‘ Welt abtauchen.

Dieses Buch ist bisher noch nicht im Deutschen erschienen.

Rainbow Rowell has a lovely style of writing. It’s easy to read and you dip into Cath‘ world fast.

Charaktere/Characters

Cath ist ein relativ introvertiertes, aber sehr liebenswürdiges Mädchen. Sie ist ein Hardcorefan von Simon Snow, die ihre eigene Fanfiction schreibt. Ich habe sie sehr gemocht und ich denke, dass sich jeder von uns Lesern in irgendeiner Art und Weise in ihr wiederfinden kann.

Reagan ist ihre neue Mitbewohnerin auf dem College. Sie ist das genaue Gegenteil von Cath, deshalb nimmt Cath sofort das Schlimmste an, als sie sie das erste Mal trifft. Doch bald darauf bemerkt sie, dass sie damit vielleicht doch nicht ganz richtig liegt.

Levi ist Reagans Freund, der fast seine gesamte Zeit in Cath‘ und Reagans Raum verbringt. Auch wenn er nicht gerade der stereotype Typ ist, den man sonst in Büchern findet (oder vielleicht auch gerade deswegen), habe ich ihn sehr gemocht.

Wren ist Cath‘ Zwillingsschwester. Während die Beiden vor Collegebeginn unzertrennlich waren, möchte Wren nun etwas Distanz zu Cath gewinnen und eigene Freunde finden. 

Cath is a quite introverted, but really lovely girl. She’s a hardcore Simon Snow fan who writes her own fanfiction. I really liked her and I think all of us can relate to her in some way.

Reagan is her new roommate. She’s the complete opposite of Cath, so Cath assumes the worst when she first meets her. But soon she notices that she might be wrong.

Levi is Reagan’s boyfriend who is in Cath’s and Reagan’s room all the time. Even though (or maybe rather because) he is not the stereotype guy one would find in a book, I liked him very much.

Wren is Cath’s twin sister. While they’ve been basically inseparable before college, Wren now tries to get some distance to Cath and to make some new friends on her own.

Meinung/Opinion

Ich habe so viele gute Sachen über „Fangirl“ gelesen, dass ich das Buch einfach sofort lesen musste, als es angekommen ist. Zum Glück hat es mich nicht enttäuscht!

„Fangirl“ ist DAS Buch für alle leidenschaftlichen Leser dort draußen. Die Geschichte handelt von einem Mädchen, das quasi nur für ihre Lieblingsbuchreihe lebt und online ihre eigene Fanfiction veröffentlicht. Als sie allerdings das College beginnt, muss sie erfahren, dass es vielleicht doch noch mehr als Bücher gibt und langsam eine gesunde Balance finden.

Natürlich habe ich die Geschichte geliebt, denn es ist ein Buch über Bücher, was grundsätzlich eine super Grundlage für ein tolles Buch ist. Ich würde zwar nicht sagen, dass ich so extrem bin wie Cath – ich schreibe keine Fanfiction oder Ähnliches – dennoch konnte ich mich durchaus in Cath wiederfinden. Levi war definitiv ein Highlight des Buches für mich – er ist einfach super süß.

Trotzdem handelt die Geschichte nicht nur von dem Fangirl-Aspekt, sondern ebenso davon, erwachsen zu werden und einigen anderen problematischen Aspekten. Cath‘ Mutter hat sie, ihre Schwester und ihren Vater verlassen, als Cath noch jünger war, was natürlich einen großen Einfluss auf ihr Leben hatte. Ihr Vater ist außerdem mental nicht der Stabilste. Als ihre Schwester dann auch noch für sich entscheidet, dass sie sich ohne Cath ins Collegeleben stürzen möchte, ist Cath verloren.

Es gab einen winzigen Aspekt, der mir nicht ganz so gut gefallen hat und das waren die Passagen aus „Simon Snow“ bzw. Cath‘ Fanfiction. Ich weiß, dass ich vermutlich die Einzige bin, die so denkt, aber leider habe ich so gar nicht in diese Geschichte hineingefunden und war deshalb etwas traurig. Dies kann allerdings sehr gut ein persönlich Problem sein, da ich öfters mit Geschichten in Geschichten so meine Probleme habe.

Normalerweise zitiere ich nicht of aus Büchern, aber ein Satz hat es mir in „Fangirl“ besonders angetan, sodass ich ausnahmsweise während des Lesens mal zum Stift greifen musste:
„To be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.“  Also, entscheidet für euch selbst, ob ihr ein Nerd seid oder nicht ;-)!

I’ve heard so many good things about „Fangirl“ that I simply had to read it as soon as it arrived. Fortunately, this book didn’t disappoint me!

„Fangirl“ is THE book for all the passionate readers out there. The story itself is about a girl who’s basically just living for her favorite series and who’s publishing her fanfiction online. When she starts college she experiences that there might be more to it than only books, but it takes some time for her to find a good balance.

Of course, I loved the story, since it’s a book about books which always is the best. I wouldn’t say that I’m as extreme as Cath – I don’t write fanfic or alike – but still, I could see myself in her quite a lot. Levi definitely has been a highlight of the book – he’s just adorable.

The story isn’t only about the fangirl aspect, though, but also about growing-up and various other problematic issues. Cath’s mother has left her, her sister and her dad, when Cath has been younger which has had a huge impact on her life, obviously. Also her dad isn’t the most stable. When her twin sister decides to explore college life without Cath, she’s lost.

There’s been one tiny aspect that’s bothered me about „Fangirl“ – the passages from „Simon Snow“ and Cath‘ fanfic. I know I will probably be the only one who thinks so, but I really didn’t get into that story which I was quite sad about. But that might as well be a personal problem, since I often don’t like stories in stories too much.

I’m usually not the quote kind of type, but in „Fangirl“ there has been one which I liked a lot:
„To be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.“ So, decide for yourself whether you’re a nerd or not ;-)!

Fazit/Conclusion

„Fangirl“ ist Pflichtlektüre für alle Fangirls und Fanboys dort draußen! Es ist eine wunderbare Geschichte und auch wenn ich die „Simon Snow“ Geschichte nicht allzu sehr mochte, kann ich nur jedem empfehlen, dieses fantastische Buch zu lesen!

„Fangirl“ is a must-read for all the fangirls and fanboys out there! It’s a lovely story and even though I didn’t enjoy the „Simon Snow“ story too much, I absolutely recommend you to read this amazing book!

Kommentar verfassen

