{Review} These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

From my old blog  |  01/18/2015

13138635

Content

“It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.”

Facts

Title: These Broken Stars

Authors: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Publishing Company: Disney-Hyperion

Number of Pages: 384

ISBN-13: 978-1423171027

Language: English

Genre: Sci Fi, YA

Add to Goodreads

Style of Writing

I loved the style of writing of Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner a lot. It’s very illustrative, so you’re able to imagine the whole world with a lot of pictures and it seems quite real to you. In addition the book is quite easily to read, which is always important, as well, for a foreign reader.

Characters

Tarver Merendsen, a young war hero, is such a lovely character. I really loved him from the beginning! He’s charming and quite caring for Lilac, though she isn’t easy to look after all the time. He’s definitely the  kind of boyfriend you’d wish for yourself!

Lilac LaRoux is the richest girl in the galaxy and often enough behaves exactly that way. Nonetheless she’s changing a lot for the better while travelling with Tarver and I like her just as much as Tarver.

Opinion

I absolutely love the way “These Broken Stars” is constructed. The book is divided into chapters told from Tarver’s and Lilac’s point of view alternating throughout the book. Before each new chapter begins, you get a glimpse of an interview Tarver has to give later in the book.  In my opinion that’s a fantastic idea! I enjoyed reading those small parts from the end of the book a lot before beginning a new chapter.

In general I’m quite obsessed with books which play in a whole galaxy. Since Beth Revi’s “Goodspeed” and “The Starkillers Cycle” by Sarah J Maas and Susan Dennard I’m in love with those stories and “These Broken Stars” just has become another highlight for me!

Only at one stage in the book I’ve been thinking “Hell, no! Why are you doing this to me, Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner?!”, but yeah, such is live… You will understand, when you read the book! Throughout the rest of the book I really enjoyed the development of the story.

Oh, and the cover is by far the most beautiful I’ve ever seen!

Conclusion

“These Broken Stars“ has been a fantastic read and I can’t wait to continue with “This Shattered World“, which luckily is already waiting for me in my bookshelf :-)! So, guys, go, buy this awesome book! I highly recommend it!

Kommentar verfassen

