{Review} Truthwitch – Susan Dennard

From my old blog  |  01/12/2016

28208248

Summary

„On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.“

Add to Goodreads

Details

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Publisher: Tor Teen

Publishing Date: January 5th, 2016

Rating: 5/5 stars

Review

I’ve had such a hard time writing this review, because obviously no words could do this epic book justice.

GUYS, TRUTHWITCH HAS BLOWN MY MIND!

My thoughts are still all over the place and even a few days after having read the book I’m still not quite sure how to sort them.

I’ve been waiting for this book what feels like a life-time, when in reality it’s been “only” eight months. Then again it’s been eight months full of fun and awesomeness thanks to the street team which made the wait so much less painful. I knew before that Susan Dennard is the empress of words which is why I trusted her blindly and promoted “Truthwitch” without having read it first. And let me tell you: “Truthwitch” most definitely deserves all the love and hype and recognition it can get.

So on release day I planned to do nothing else than reading “Truthwitch” and I’m proud to say that “Truthwitch” is the first book I’ve ever finished in a day. It got me hooked from page #1, where all the trouble for Safi and Iseult begins, and kept me sucked into the Witchlands until the final page.

You might already know how much I adore Susan Dennard’s writing. She simply knows how to bewitch her readers. Susan Dennard lets them experience her world themselves by not only showing them how it looks like, but also hinting at the smell, feels, taste and noises one can hear. There’s nothing better than to dip into Susan Dennard’s world and savor her story with all five senses.

Susan Dennard’s characters are three-dimensional, complete opposites of each other and just super adorable. I felt a connection to Safi from the first second. She’s super impulsive and fun and I loved pretty much everything about her. She’s definitely one of my all-time favourite female characters. Iseult on the contrary was a bit hard to estimate in the beginning. But the more time I spent with her the dearer she grew to my heart. I fell for Merik in an instant – it was love at first sight! He’s so adorable, and obviously another addition to the list of my book boyfriends. Aeduan is the mysterious bad boy of the story who is just as intriguing. There are a lot more secondary characters, all of them super interesting and a pleasure to get to know.

The main aspect of the story is friendship. I didn’t know that I was craving for it until I read “Truthwitch”. What Safi and Iseult share is such a special and epic relationship one can only dream of. I honestly wasn’t expecting to love this huge part of the story so much, because I thought I was more into the romantic kind of relationships. Well, looks like I’ve been proven wrong.

Truthwitch doesn’t lack romance, either, of course. I ship both Safi and Iseult with each a hot guy. I’m not going to spoiler you, though, but I can promise you a very delicate slow-burn/hate-love-at-first-sight kind of passion between two main characters. There is this one scene of the two of them which is my absolute favourite scene of the entire book!

The world-building is phenomenal. Susan Dennard creates a whole new world with its own politics, economics and life-styles. I loved the way how magic was woven into it. To categorize different types of magic into the four classical elements water, fire, earth and air, as well as the two additional elements aether and void is a clever way to add more to the story than just magic itself.

Reading “Truthwitch” felt like going on adventure holidays in the Witchlands for a few days.

It was such an amazing experience that I’ve started to listen to the audiobook immediately the days after having read it. I just can’t get it out of my head and I’m sure we’re in for a lot of surprises in the following books. The sequel “Windwitch” can’t be released soon enough and I’m also looking forward to the German translation in fall.

GO READ THIS BOOK, GUYS!!

Kommentar verfassen

