{Rezension/Review} The Orphan Queen – Jodi Meadows

Von meinem alten Blo/From my old blog  |  14.08.2015

18081228

Inhalt/Content

“Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others.“

http://www.jodimeadows.com/?page_id=2284

Fakten/Facts

Titel/Title: The Orphan Queen

Aut(h)or: Jodi Meadows

Verlag/Publishing Company: Katherine Tegen Books

Seitenzahl/Number of Pages: 400

ISBN-13: 978-0062317384

Sprache/Language: English

Genre: Fantasy

Add to Goodreads

Schreibstil/Style of Writing

Jodi Meadows‘ Schreibstil ist sehr lebhaft und detailgetreu, sodass man sehr leicht in die Geschichte einsteigen kann. Die bildliche Sprache ermöglicht einem, dass man sich die Welt ohne Probleme vorstellen kann und man die Charaktere schnell gut kennen und lieben lernt.

Jodi Meadows‘ style of writing is very vivid and detailed, so you’re able to get into the story easily. The figurative language enables you to imagine the world easily and to get to know and learn to love the characters quickly.

Charaktere/Characters

Wilhelmina ist eine taffe Prinzessin, die versucht, ihr Königreich zurückzuerobern. Ich liebe kick-ass Charaktere und Wil ist auf jeden Fall einer meiner Lieblinge.

Black Knife… ich weiß absolut nicht, wie ich meine Gefühle für ihn in Worte fassen soll… Er ist einfach… ahhh <3! Liebenswert, mysteriös, süß und sexy :-D! Black Knife versucht diejenigen zu fangen, die ihre Magie benutzen, obwohl er nicht einmal ein Polizist ist, die offiziell hinter den Gesetzesbrechern hinterher sind.

Es gibt eine ganze Reihe von Charakteren in „The Orphan Queen“ – jeder für sich sehr gut entwickelt und vor allem individuell und interessant.

Wilhelmina is a tough princess who’s attempting on getting back her kingdom. I love kick-ass characters and Wil is definitely one of my favorites.

Black Knife… I don’t even know how to put my feelings into words… He’s just… ahhh <3! Adorable, mysterious,  cute and sexy :-D! Anyway, he’s the guy who’s trying to catch those who are using their magic, even though he’s not one of the policemen who are officially catching the lawbreakers.

There are quite a lot of other characters in „The Orphan Queen“, each of them is very well-developed and they are all interesting individuals.

Meinung/Opinion

Ich wollte „The Orphan Queen“ eigentlich schon vor einer ganzen Weile gelesen haben – am Erscheinungstag um genau zu sein. Ich habe es sogar vorbestellt! Allerdings bin ich dann nicht direkt dazu gekommen und es ist somit in meinem Regal verstaubt, was ein RIESEN Fehler war!!

Zu Beginn hatte ich einige Probleme in die Geschichte rein zu kommen, denn sie ist komplett anders als alles, das ich zuvor gelesen habe und es gibt eine Menge, in sich aufzunehmen. Auf der anderen Seite war ich sehr glücklich, dass es keine ellenlange Einleitung gab und die Geschichte auf Seite #1 startete. Ich habe mich dann allerdings doch recht schnell in die Geschichte hinein gefunden und mich sofort in sie verliebt.

Ein Aspekt, der mir besonders gut gefallen hat und noch viel wichtiger, aus „The Orphan Queen“ eine einzigartige Geschichte macht, ist, dass man ausnahmsweise mal von Beginn an weiß, wer der Hauptcharakter wirklich ist. Man weiß, Wilhelmina ist eine Prinzessin, die ihr Königreich zurückerobern möchte und dies hat mir sehr gut gefallen.

Die Charaktere sind alle sehr authentisch und man fühlt das, was sie auch fühlen. Mein Lieblingscharakter ist natürlich Black Knife! Er ist einfach super süß und ganz sicher einer meiner top Book Boyfriends. Man weiß nicht von Anfang an, wer er wirklich ist, was ihn um so reizender macht.

Die Idee der Geschichte ist wirklich einzigartig. Auch wenn ich mich erst an das Wort „wraith“ gewöhnen musste (ich habe vorher noch nie von dem Wort gehört),  habe ich die Idee dahinter sofort gemocht. Sie hat mich sehr an den Klimawandel erinnert, allerdings weiß ich nicht, woher Jodi Meadows die Idee hatte oder ob dies Absicht war. Egal wie, das Konzept ist großartig!

Das Buch ist durchweg spannend und nimmt immer wieder neue Wendungen. Es wird einem also nie langweilig! Aber seid gewarnt: Dieses Buch hat den gemeinsten Cliffhanger ÜBERHAUPT!

I’d meant to read „The Orphan Queen“ a long time ago – the day it was released to be exact. I even preordered it! But then somehow I didn’t get to it right away and it got stuck on my shelf which was a HUGE mistake when looking back!!

At first I had some trouble getting into the story, because it was just very different from everything I’ve read before and there’s been a lot to take in. On the other hand I was really happy that there hasn’t been a too long introduction and that the story started from page #1! Soon I got around it and fell for the amazing story.

One aspect I loved about „The Orphan Queen“ and more importantly made it a very unique story was that for once one does know from the beginning who the main character really is. You know that Wilhelmina is the princess who wants to get back her kingdom and I liked this a lot.

The characters are all very genuine and you actually do feel what they feel. My favorite character is, of course, Black Knife! He’s just the cutest and one of my top book boyfriends for sure! One doesn’t know from the beginning who he really is which makes him even more appealing.

The idea of the story is unique. Even though I had to get used to the word wraith itself (never heard of it before), I did like the idea immediately and it reminded me of the climate change. I’m not sure, if that’s where the idea came from or even if it was intended, but I thought it was just a great concept.

This story is thrilling throughout the whole book and takes a lot of turns, so you won’t get bored any second! But be aware: This book has the meanest cliffhander EVER!

Fazit/Conclusion

„The Orphan Queen“ ist auf jeden Fall eines meiner Highlights diesen Jahres. Ich habe dieses Buch wirklich genossen! Mit großartigen Charakteren und einer komplexen Welt ist dies ein Buch, das einem in Erinnerung bleibt. Ich freue mich schon unglaublich auf die Fortsetzung „The Mirror King“! Eine absolute Leseempfehlung!

„The Orphan Queen“ is most definitely one of my highlights this year. I really enjoyed this book! With great characters and a complex world it’s one of those books which stay with you. Really looking forward to the sequel „The Mirror King“! I highly recommend „The Orphan Queen“.

Kommentar verfassen

