{Review} The King Slayer – Virginia Boecker

25603164

Add to Goodreads

Content

„Former witch hunter Elizabeth Grey is hiding within the magically protected village of Harrow, evading the price put on her head by Lord Blackwell, the usurper king of Anglia. Their last encounter left Blackwell ruined, but his thirst for power grows stronger every day. He’s readying for a war against those who would resist his rule–namely Elizabeth and the witches and wizards she now calls her allies.

Having lost her stigma, a magical source of protection and healing, Elizabeth’s strength is tested both physically and emotionally. War always means sacrifice, and as the lines between good and evil blur once more, Elizabeth must decide just how far she’ll go to save those she loves.“

Facts

Title: The King Slayer (The Witch Hunter #2)

Author: Virginia Boecker

Release Date: June 14th 2016

Publisher: Little, Brown Books

Rating: 5/5 stars

Opinion

The King Slayer was the perfect conclusion to a wonderful story with the most lovely characters.

I was super excited and more than happy when Virginia Boecker did a giveaway on Twitter and I actually won an ARC of The King Slayer. I LOVED The Witch Hunter which I only read recently (yup, shame on me) and I couldn’t wait to continue with this lovely story. So I literally stalked the post man every day and dived into The King Slayer as soon as I got my hands on it.

I enjoyed every single page of this book. The story picks up a few months after The Witch Hunter ends and I was hooked from the first page. I loved how the whole story folds out and the world expands. We visit new places, as well as familiar ones. We meet new faces and old friends (or enemies). And learn new facts about the world.

Virginia Boecker’s writing style is super vivid and very easy to read. I flew through the pages and couldn’t put it down. Especially the last part is so gripping that you can’t stop and might get one or two heart-attacks. Besides the heart-attacks, I absolutely loved the ending. It’s such a great conclusion which left me absolutely satisfied and the last battle was just epic. I couldn’t have asked for more.

I love almost each and every character of The King Slayer (maybe except for the villain). They are so three-dimensional and genuine you almost think they’re real people. I especially loved Elizabeth, John, Fifer and Schuyler. They make a fantastic quartet and I shipped both couples really hard. I liked that John for once wasn’t a bad boy, but a good boy through and through. He’s such a cutie pie! And I also learned to like Malcom.

A special aspect about The Witch Hunter duology is that Elizabeth goes from invincible to weak. This isn’t happening that often in books, usually it’s the other way round. I loved how she struggled, but tried hard  and trained hard to get strong again. This was a lovely and fresh idea. I also absolutely got why things had to be a certain way and for once I was okay with the things Elizabeth did. I don’t want to spoiler you, so I won’t tell more than this. Virginia Boecker did an absolutely amazing job in justifying moves by both Elizabeth and John.

The King Slayer is a new fav of mine and the complete duolog is an absolute must-read. So you better order both books, if you haven’t read them yet!

Kommentar verfassen

