Review: Windwitch by Susan Dennard (a.k.a. the best book ever)

windwitch-susan-dennard

Summary

Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak―which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her―yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge―especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.

Amazon.de  |  Amazon.com  |  Bookdepository

Details

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Publisher: Tor Teen

Publishing Date: January 10th, 2017

Rating: 5/5 stars

Teaser

 

Review

This is my second attempt at writing a review for Windwitch and I’m not sure I’ll find the right words this time, because WINDWITCH HAS LITERALLY BLOWN ME AWAY! (I know I started my Truthwitch review the exact same way  (please forgive me), but it’s the truth, and Windwitch is even more awesome than Truthwitch! But more on that later…)

Originally, Windwitch was my most anticipated read for 2017, but then I was lucky enough to get an ARC (thank you again, Tor Teen and Sooz!!), which made it my most anticipated read in 2016. I had quite high expectations, because I LOVED Truthwitch and since Windwitch is the hardest book Susan has ever written, I did not want to disappoint her by not liking it. So when I started reading, I was a little nervous. If you’re in the same situation, I can assure you, though, that you don’t need to be nervous AT ALL! Windwitch is the best book Susan has ever written and probably even the best book I’ve ever read (yes, it’s even better than ACOMAF, because you find heaps of awesome diverse characters in it

When you read books, there are those which are a pleasure to read, but don’t affect you much and then there are those books which stay with you even long after you’ve finished. Windwitch is one of the latter. I’m writing this review weeks after having finished and the story is still as vivid in my head as it was during the moments I was reading it. Windwitch is a book you dive head first into and don’t want to ever leave again.

In Windwitch you get to know a lot more places in the Witchlands due to the fact that all main characters travel a lot. It’s a fascinating world and the world-building is fantastic. Susan does an amazing job at creating the right atmosphere and you’re able to see yourself fighting alongside Safi or Iseult. Windwitch definitely isn’t a book you read, but a book you dive into and explore the world yourself. You see what Safi, Iseult, Merik and Aeduan see; you feel what they feel; you smell what they smell; hear what they hear and taste what they taste. You ARE literally them and this is one aspect which makes reading Windwitch so exciting. Susan has a superb writing style!

One main aspect I LOVE about the Witchlands series are the amazing characters. All four main characters we get to know in Truthwitch are back in Windwitch and while Windwitch is mainly about Merik, we also get to know the other three characters way better, as well. I also absolutely LOVE that there are so many diverse characters in this series. From different cultures or ethnics to different sexualities, there’s a character to identify with for everyone. I personally have a new favourite character, but since she hasn’t been a main character/POV in Truthwitch, I’m not going to spoil you.

Two aspects that make this series special are: 1. Safi’s and Iseult’s friendship is epic. It’s not manipulative or toxic, but for once there are two best friends who’d do anything for each other. The story isn’t about romance and it doesn’t need to be, either. You won’t hear me say this often, because I’m a sucker for love stories, but in this case the friendship is worth so much more. 2. Susan aims to write this story without the ONE villain every fantasy book has, because in real life, too, there might not be the one villain, either, but quite a few toxic people with wrong opinions who make your life a living hell. I think both aspects are quite refreshing and make this series unique.

Windwitch is a page-turner you won’t be able to put down. If you haven’t read Truthwitch yet, I highly recommend you to start this series, or if you’re unsure whether to continue this series, I promise you won’t regret reading Windwitch. This book is probably my favourite book ever!

urlw

Kommentar verfassen

